Crinkly Joey Flowers

I have had a ball making what I call Joey Flowers. These are generally a flower made of fabric or ribbon.  I have been raving about the lovely crinkly ribbon that I purchased from an Etsy web site.

Mary from Glorie Vintage sales this beautiful satin crinkly ribbon in many colors, but my favorite are the soft pastels. She also sales many other items. Stop by and say hi! 

I couldn’t wait to try this new ribbon out.

90a02-untitled

After making a very large Joey flower I thought that making smaller ones would be perfect with this lovely ribbon. You may think that I am crazy but I love the smell and feel of new textiles, it’s kinda like opening up a new book or magazine and smelling that great fragrance of the paper and print. I almost can get a high from it ! lol I know I’m kinda crazy!

finished pink flower

Here is a Joey flower made out of the Ballerina Pink. One thing that I find great is that I can use up a lot of the scrapes of fabric and ribbon when making Joey flowers.

You will need: Fabric or ribbon, glue gun, thread and needle for by hand, or sewing machine, scissors, felt in color of the rosette, pieces of jewelry for center of rosette, strips of fabric and or ribbon, lace. Alphabet stamps and stamp pad for creating words on streamers.

pink circle

To start with you need to cut 2 circles out of felt the color of your flower.

start sewing flower

The size of the rosette depends on the size of the circle you cut. Start by sewing the ribbon at the outer edge of the circle and bunch or gather the ribbon as you sew row by row . . .

sewing 2

. . .  make sure that when you start and end you do a couple of back stitches so it will stay nice and secure.

flower ends

It should look like this when you are finished sewing on the ribbon. You can use ribbon or fabric for the rosette.  Now you should have the flower, and one more round felt circle left. Next start to put together the streamers that you want hanging from the rosette. I cut pieces of lace, tulle, and ribbon at different lengths.  As you can see above I have tea stained some of the ribbon for a little more weathered look. I like to mix it with the new, it gives a nice effect.

adding ribbon to the back

I run a line of stitches to hold all of the streamers together, then I hot glue the streamers to the back of the rosette about 2/3 rds of the way down. Arrange the streamers the way you like them.

loop

At the top of the circle glue a small ribbon for hanging. Then take the felt circle that is left and glue gun it to the back of the flower. This will make the back look much more tightly and presentable and give it a finished look.

front of flower

Choose what ever you like for the center of the rosette. I used a large pearl.

finished white

I have found many uses for these sweet flowers. Here are a few.

  They even make a gift extra special because you made it.

joesy flowers Collage

I also have stamped something cute on the streamers like “Shabby White” or “Ballet Pink”. I like the personal touch.

CAUTION: I have made these flowers with a glue gun instead of sewing but if you want any fingerprints left be careful if you are using a glue gun!  lol

Have a wonderful day!

xx Jo

I will be at these amazing parties this week, come and join me!

Monday

Amaze Me Monday @ Dwellings-the heart of our home

The art of Homemaking Mondays @ Strangers and Pilgrims

Tuesday

The Scoop @ Cedar Hill Farm

Let’s talk Vintage @ Bella Rosa Antiques

Wednesday

Vintage Inspiration Party @ My Salvaged Treasure

WOW @ Savvy Southern Style

Moonlight and Mason Jars @ Cherished Bliss

Thursday

Thoughts of Home Thursday @ Poofing the Pillows

Share Your Cup Thursday @ Have a Cup with Mrs. Olson

Share your Style @ The Essence of Home

Blog Hop @ Katherine’s Corner

Vintage Charm @ Blue Willow House .com

Friday

Home Sweet Home Party @ The Charm of home

Home Matters Linky Party @ Life with Lorelai

Simply Sweet Fridays @ Rooted in Thyme

Friday’s Furniture Fix @ Patina Paradise

Shabbilicious Friday @ Shabby Art Boutique

Five Star Fro Fro @ A Tray of Bliss

Feathered Nest Friday @ French Country Cottage

Saturday

Pretty Pintastic Party @ Seeking Lavender Lane

Upcycled Linky Party @ Funky Junk

Inspiration Spotlight @ Dear Creatives.com

Best of the Weekend @ Ms. Toody Goo Shoes

Share it One More Time @ Shabby Fufu

 

26 thoughts on “Crinkly Joey Flowers

  1. You have really made some beautiful flowers! I agree about the hot glue, ouch! But, they are so pretty! Make sure to stop by the blog and enter my give away 🙂 Blessings, Cindy xo

    Like

  2. Thank you for showing us how to make your pretty flowers and for the warning about the hot glue. I always try to remember to keep a bowl of ice water close at hand to plunge my fingers into if I get ‘glued’.

    Like

  3. Totally in love! So beautiful in fact, the designer in me wants a dress with these “Joey” flowers. I can picture it in my head.. A little black dress with these flowers as the belt…. Or a beautiful wedding dress with the bottom made from nothing but just a garden of these flowers… ( of course the netting and the lining lol) but I’ve seen dresses like that and they go for thousands of dollars and those flowers aren’t even close to yours! Ohhhh what I could do with these beauties… Headbands, fascinators! Belts, even on shoes! Look at what you sparked! Lol

    Like

  4. Oh I totally know what you mean about textiles! I am the same way… Love to touch and smell lol, my husband calls says it’s a sensory issue that costs him a lot of money. Lol

    Like

      • It’s kinda nice to know I’m not alone in the fact I love me a nice new skein of yarn, or when I get my silk sari ribbons the weird fact I like to lay them out and pet each one lmfao… Ok that sounds creepy, I’ll stop at that one… ( I secretly sniff too) haha

        Like

I love to read your comments. Thank you!